Lisbon Congress Centre
Lisbon Congress Centre, Praça das Indústrias 1, 1300-307 Lisboa, Portugal

What is Qwoted?

Qwoted is a free expert network: we help reporters connect with experts & we help those same experts build relationships with top reporters.

Event Date Tue Mar 1 WET - Thu Mar 3 WET (in about 1 month)
In your timezone (EST): Mon Feb 28 7:00pm - Wed Mar 2 7:00pm
Location Lisbon Congress Centre
Praça das Indústrias 1, 1300-307 Lisboa, Portugal
Region EMEA

This global event will bring together the broadest cross-section of the ocean community, from businesses to scientists, government, investors, and civil society. No other event rivals its challenging content and diverse and senior audience, or its influence and impact on the acceleration of progress towards a sustainable ocean economy. It aims to change how business is done in the ocean, shaping and advancing the way in which governments, businesses, and conservation organisations work together to fashion the “blue economy”.


2022 Speakers

Amina J Mohammed
Deputy secretary-general, UN and chair, UN Sustainable Development Group

HSH Prince Albert II
Sovereign prince of Monaco

Razan Al Mubarak
President, International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)

Richard Spinrad
Under secretary of commerce for oceans and atmosphere, and administrator, NOAA

Peter Thomson
Special envoy to the ocean, The United Nations Organisation

Patricia Scotland
Secretary-general of the Commonwealth

Ricardo Serrão Santos
Minister of maritime affairs, Portugal

Mairi Gougeon
Cabinet secretary for rural affairs and islands, Scotland

Virginijus Sinkevičius
Commissioner for environment, oceans and fisheries, European Commission

Peggy Kalas
Director, High Seas Alliance

Zac Goldsmith
Minister of state for Pacific and the environment, UK Government

Vladimir Ryabinin
Executive secretary of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) and assistant director general of UNESCO

Yohei Sasakawa
Chairman, The Nippon Foundation

Maya Gabeira
Professional big wave surfer, activist and board member, Oceana

Santiago Wills
Ambassador of Colombia to WTO, Chair of WTO fisheries subsidies negotiations, World Trade Organization

Walton A Webson
Chair, Association of Small Island States (AOSIS)

Tanguy Gahouma Bekale
Special advisor to the president and permanent secretary, National Climate Council, Gabon

Maria Damanaki
Independent advisor on climate and ocean, Paradise Foundation

Denis Choumert
Chairman, Global Shippers Alliance
Anna TurrellTesco
Anna Turrell
Head of environment, Tesco
James WoodrowTCNC
James Woodrow
Managing director, The China Navigation Company

Jane Ewing
Senior vice-president for sustainability, Walmart
Mikael ThinguusRoyal Greenland
Mikael Thinghuus
Chief executive, Royal Greenland
Virginie HeliasP&G
Virginie Helias
Chief sustainability officer, Procter & Gamble

Andreas Nordseth
Director-general, Danish Maritime Authority

Bernardo Carvalho
Chief executive and founder, Oceano Fresco

Yoisey Belen Castillo
Head of mitigation, department for the climate change, directorate of the ministry of the environment, Panama

Andrew Hudson
Head, water and ocean governance programme, United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

Nathalie Corredor
Senior vice-president corporate development and chief of staff, Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts

Tiago Pitta e Cunha
Chief executive, Oceano Azul Foundation

Carlos Duarte
Distinguished professor of marine science, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST)

Dorothee Herr
Manager, ocean and climate change, International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)

Kristjan Th. Davidsson
Chairman, BRIM

David Heindel
Secretary-treasurer, Seafarers International Union of North America

Jennifer Kemmerly
Vice-president, global ocean initiatives, Monterey Bay Aquarium

Erlend Reiten
Chief transformation officer, Cermaq

Peter Burke
Minister of state with responsibility for local government and planning, Ireland

Thassanee Wanick
Hon. Consul General of Thailand in Brazil (retired)

Tom Pickerell
Executive director, Global Tuna Alliance

Alf-Goran Knutsen
Chief executive, Kvarøy Fiskeoppdrett AS

Karen Sack
Executive director, Ocean Risk and Resilience Action Alliance (ORRAA)

Emanuel Gonçalves
Board member, Fundação Oceano Azul

Ruben Eiras
Secretary general, Forum Oceano

Christoph Harwood
Director, strategy and policy, managing director of aquaculture, Simply Blue Group

Lisa Bishop
President, Friends of Hanauma Bay

Wietse Van Der Derf
Founder and chief executive, Sea Ranger Service

Brune Poirson
Chief sustainability officer, Accor Hotels

Ohad Maiman
Founder and chief executive, The Kingfish company

Cyrill Gutsch
Founder and chief executive, Parley for the Oceans

Christopher Storey
Co-founder, Ghost Network

Deborah Brosnan
Founder, Deborah Brosnan and Associates

Oliver Steeds
Chief executive, Nekton Foundation

Thoriq Ibrahim
Founder and president, Maldives Ocean Plastics Alliance

Jojo de Noronha
President North Europe, The Kraft Heinz Company

Huub den Rooijen
Managing director, marine, Crown Estate

Kendra MacDonald
Chief Executive, Canada's Ocean Supercluster

Rupert Howes
Chief executive, Marine Stewardship Council

Nina Jensen
Chief executive, REV Ocean

Bertrand Swiderski
Chief sustainability officer, Carrefour

Terry Downes
Chief operating officer, Sealaska

Catalina López Salazar
Director, Aquatic Animal Alliance, The Aquatic Life Institute

Christian Lim
Co-managing director, SWEN Blue Ocean

Yoni Shiran
Partner and plastic lead, Systemiq

Joi Danielson
Partner, Systemiq

Martin Purves
Managing director, International Pole and Line Foundation

Liesl Hotaling
President, education director, Eidos Education

Dennis Fritsch
Sustainable blue finance lead, UNEP

Dodon Yamin
Managing director, MARI Oceans Indonesia

Marie Fukudome
Director of environment affairs, Hyatt Group

Kristian Teleki
Global director, ocean programme, World Resources Institute

Zandile Ndhlovu
Founder, The Black Mermaid Foundation

Vera Coelho
Senior director of advocacy in Europe, Oceana

Manuel Barange
Director, fisheries and aquaculture division, Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN (FAO)

Melanie Siggs​
Director of strategic engagements, Global Seafood Alliance

John Goodlad
Chairman, Fisheries Innovation Scotland

Kerstin Forsberg
Director, Planeto Oceano

Thue Holm
Chief technical officer and co-founder, Atlantic Sapphire

Vlada Demydova
Regional director, Europe & Middle East, AquaChile

Douglas McCauley
Professor & director, Benioff Ocean Initiative

Julius Arnegger
Professor of tourism management, DITF – German Institute for Tourism Research at West Coast University of Applied Sciences

Sally Yozel
Senior fellow and director environmental security, Stimson Centre

Isabel Hoffmann
Manager, Capitals Coalition

Niki Alexi
Post doc researcher, Department of Food Science, Aarhus University, Food Quality Perception and Society Research Group

Finn Ross
PhD candidate, Blue Carbon Lab, Deakin University

Zanny Minton Beddoes
Editor-in-chief, The Economist

Charles Goddard
Editorial director, Economist Impact

Martin Koehring
Head, World Ocean Initiative, Economist Impact

Sponsors & Partners

2022 Sponsors and Supporters

• Ocean Network Express


• Eachmile
• Mission Possible Partnership

• Sealaska
• Simply Blue Group

• Oceano Azul Foundation

• The Nippon Foundation
• Back to Blue