What is Qwoted?

Qwoted is a free expert network: we help reporters connect with experts & we help those same experts build relationships with top reporters.

Event Date Mon Jun 28 BST - Fri Jul 2 BST (over 1 year ago)
In your timezone (EST): Mon Jun 28 3:00am - Fri Jul 2 12:00pm
Location Virtual
Region EMEA

This is the key event in the yearly cycle of the Bank – combining the reunion of the Board of Governors (the EBRD’s highest decision-making body) and the Business Forum (an opportunity to connect with a wide cross-section of business guests from around the world).

We are therefore pleased to announce the return of the Business Forum this year. The overall theme of the 2021 Business Forum is Building Back Better Economies. The coronavirus pandemic has been the worst crisis the EBRD countries of operations have faced since the Bank was created at the end of the Cold War. At the EBRD we are committed to helping these countries rebound and recover: addressing remaining and new transition gaps, and building resilient and sustainable economies that are green, inclusive and embrace digital transition.

The five-day virtual EBRD Business Forum offers guests a dynamic programme of discussion and dialogue on these and other wide-ranging issues that shape our future, as well as a series of special associated events.

Importantly, the Business Forum also provides extensive networking opportunities as it welcomes participants from around the world, including high-level government officials, leading financial and corporate executives, entrepreneurs from the regions, representatives of civil society, and international media.


2021 Speakers

Rania Al-Mashat
Minister of International Cooperation, Government of Egypt

Hannes Astok
Executive Director and Chairman of the Management Board, The e-Governance Academy

Marc Auboin
Economic Research Counsellor, World Trade Organisation

Zeinab Badawi
Presenter, BBC

Gianfranco Bisagni
Head of Central Europe, Unicredit

Martin Blum
Head of Desk Strategy, RBI

Harry Boyd-Carpenter
Managing Director, Green Economy and Climate Action, EBRD

HE Ana Brnabić
Prime Minister, Government of the Republic of Serbia

Mark Carney
Finance Adviser to the Prime Minister for COP 26 and, UN Special Envoy for Climate Action and Finance

Daniel Castro
Vice President, Information Technology and Innovation Foundation

Maneesha Chadha
Head – CSR, India & Co-head, Global Philanthropy, APAC, J.P. Morgan

Jonathan Charles
Managing Director of Communications, EBRD

Aylin Corman
Investor Relations Manager, Akfen

Alistair Clark
Managing Director, Environment and Sustainability, EBRD

Professor Sir Partha Dasgupta
Professor, University of Cambridge

Marek Dietl
Chief Executive Officer, Warsaw Stock Exchange

Kevin D’Souza
Vice President of Security, Sustainability & Environment, Centerra Gold

Esther Duflo
Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ebru Dildar Edin
Executive Vice President, Corporate, Investment Banking and Global Markets, Garanti Bank

Sean Edwards
Chairman, International Trade & Forfaiting Association

Michael Goltzman
Vice President, Global Policy & Sustainability, The Coca-Cola Company

Anabel González
Deputy Director General, World Trade Organization

Dr. Jane Goodall, DBE
Founder - the Jane Goodall Institute & UN Messenger of Peace

Gita Gopinath
Economic Counsellor and Director of Research, International Monetary Fund

Koba Gvenetadze
Chairman of the Board, National Bank of Georgia

Nik Gowing
Director, Think Unthinkable

Pierre Heilbronn
Vice President, Policy and Partnerships, EBRD

Maya Hennerkes
ESG Sector Lead for Financial Intermediaries, EBRD

Lukasz Januszewski
Member of the Management Board Markets & Investment, RBI

Beata Javorcik
Chief Economist, EBRD

Cholpon Jumashukurov
Co-Founder and Managing Partner, Highland Capital

John Kerry
Special Presidential Envoy for Climate, Government of the United States

Olena Koval
Head of Private Sector Partnerships and Civil Society Engagement, EBRD

Ivan Krastev
Chairman, Centre for Liberal Strategies

Zoltan Kurali
Chief Executive Officer, Government Debt Management Agency Pte. Ltd

Chris Langdon
Director, Think Unthinkable

Katie Martin
Markets Editor, Financial Times

Mariana Mazzucato
Professor, University College London

Mairead McGuinness
European Commissioner, Financial Services, Financial Stability and Capital Markets Union

Peter Mulroy
Secretary General, FCI

Vincent O'Brien
Director, International Chamber of Commerce

Richard Porter
Director, Strategic Engagement & Planning, EBRD

Rudolf Putz
Associate Director, Head of TFP, EBRD

Artur Radziwill
Director, Country Economics and Policy, EBRD

Raghuram Rajan
Professor, University of Chicago Booth School of Business

Barbara Rambousek
Director for Gender and Economic Inclusion, EBRD

Carmen M. Reinhart
Vice President and Chief Economist, World Bank Group

Odile Renaud-Basso
President, EBRD

Jurgen Rigterink
First Vice-President and Head of Client Services Group, EBRD

Alan Rousso
Managing Director, External Relations and Partnerships, EBRD

Shannon Salter
Chair, Civil Resolution Tribunal

Marietje Schaake
International Policy Director, Stanford University Cyber Policy Center

Minouche Shafik
Director, London School of Economics and Political Science

David Shukman
Science Editor, BBC News

Diane Sinclair
Group Employee Relations Director, Coca-Cola

Annemarie Straathof
Vice President Risk and Compliance and Chief Risk Officer, EBRD

Michael Strauss
General Counsel, EBRD

Frans Timmermans
Executive Vice-President, responsible for the European Green Deal, European Commission

Eleni Vrettou
Executive General Manager of Corporate and Investment Banking, Piraeus Bank S.A.

Kevin Watkins
Chief Executive, Save the Children

Luigi Zingales
Professor, University of Chicago Booth School of Business

Sponsors & Partners

2021 Sponsors and Partners

• Raiffeisen Bank International

• UniCredit

• Akfen Holding

• The Banker
• bne IntelliNews
• Euromoney
• fDi Intelligence
• Global Finance
• GlobalMarkets