Egmont Palace
Egmont Palace, Pl. du Petit Sablon 8, 1000 Bruxelles, Belgium

What is Qwoted?

Qwoted is a free expert network: we help reporters connect with experts & we help those same experts build relationships with top reporters.

Event Date Wed Nov 17 CET (2 months ago)
In your timezone (EST): Wed Nov 17 3:25am - Wed Nov 17 11:45am
Location Egmont Palace
Pl. du Petit Sablon 8, 1000 Bruxelles, Belgium
Region EMEA

This pivotal year for Europe’s recovery has brought many challenges as well as new perspectives and opportunities for transformation, which have made coming together to debate and discuss Europe’s pressing issues more important than ever. As it has done for over 20 years, the European Business Summit is uniquely positioned as a debating platform for policy, business, and academia.

Two major axes critical for the global economic recovery, to develop resilient healthcare systems, as well as to improve Europe’s efficiency in the fields of energy and agriculture. Keeping our continent at the forefront of innovation on the world stage will require efforts and investments from both the public and the private sector; but creating social acceptance will also be key to broaden the use and the efficiency of these new technologies. Together, key figures from business, policy, civil society and academia, will think of innovative solutions to create trustworthy ecosystems, integrated markets within the EU and an inclusive environment for companies, citizens and consumers alike.


2021 Speakers

Frans Timmermans
Executive Vice President for the European Green Deal

Josep Borrell
High Representative of the EU for Foreign Affairs & security policy/Vice President of the European Commission

Kadri Simson
Commissioner for Energy

Alexander De Croo
Prime Minister of Belgium

Olivier Guersent
Director General of DG COMP

Clément Beaune
French Secretary of State for European Affairs

Anna Gumbau
Journalist & Event Moderator, EU Climate & Energy

Virginijus Sinkevicius
Commissioner for Environment, Oceans and Fisheries

Avi Goldfarb
Rotman Chair in Artificial Intelligence and Healthcare, University of Toronto

Sir David Attenborough
Broadcaster and Natural Historian

Miapetra Kumpula Natri
Member of the European Parliament

Henrik Hololei
Director General of DG MOVE

Matt Brittin
President, EMEA Business and Operations, Google

Aniek Moonen
Chair of Dutch Youth Climate Movement

Maxfield Weiss
Executive Director CDP Europe

Cybelle Buyck
Vice President Legal & Corporate Affairs Europe, AB InBev

Philippe Lamberts
Member of the European Parliament

Mariya Gabriel
Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth

Oleksandr Kryvosheyev
Vice President Corporate Affairs at JTI

Pascal Canfin
Member of the European Parliament

Gaëtan Bonhomme
Investor in Climate Tech, Breakthrough Energy Ventures Europe

Mathias Cormann
OECD Secretary General

Maria Leptin
President of the European Research Council

Julio Kong You
Vice President of Europe Government and Public Affairs, Huawei Technologies Co., Ltd.

Bart Groothuis
Member of the European Parliament

Elisabetta Siracusa
Principal Advisor, DG FISMA

Hans van der Loo
Chairman of the Advisory Board of the Institute for Integrated Economic Research & EU STEM Ambassador

Andrea Renda
Senior Fellow, CEPS

Oliver Bethel
Director, Google Competition

Siada El Ramly
Director General of DOT Europe

Pascal Saint-Amans
Director, Centre for Tax Policy and Administration, OECD

André Sapir
Senior Fellow at Bruegel

Jean-Pascal van Ypersele
Former Vice-President of the IPCC

Markus Reinisch
VP Public Affairs EMEA, Facebook

Eva Kaili
Member of the European Parliament

Jiří Šedivý
EDA Chief Executive

Sir David King
Founder and Chair of the Centre for Climate Repair, University of Cambridge

Meabh McMahon
Euronews Reporter

Janez Potocnik
Co-Chair of the UN International Resource Panel

Vera Jourova
Executive Vice-President for Transparency

Teri Schultz
EU Defence Reporter

Jacob Ruiter
CEO EIT InnoEnergy Benelux, Head of the European Green Hydrogen Acceleration Center

Dave Keating
EU journalist

Thomas Reynaert
Managing Director, Airlines for Europe

Kris Peeters
EIB Vice-President

Valdis Dombrovskis
Executive Vice President of the European Commission

Pastora Valero
Senior Vice President, Public Policy and Government Affairs, EMEA, Cisco Systems Inc.

Dan Michaels
Brussels Bureau Chief of the Wall Street Journal

Shada Islam
Brussels-based commentator and analyst

Stéphanie Yon Courtin
Member of The European Parliament

Chris Burns
Independent Journalist and Presenter

Fiona Scott Morton
Theodore Nierenberg Professor of Economics at the Yale University School of Management

Wouter van Dieren
Club of Rome

Harald Sverdrup
Norwegian Resource Expert

Silvia Amaro
CNBC Correspondent

Thomas Meth
Executive Vice President, Enviva

Maria Tadeo
Bloomberg Correspondent

Martin O'Neill
Vice-president for Strategy, GE Gas Power

Lucilla Sioli
Director for Digital Industry at European Commission

Jan Pie
Secretary General, ASD Europe

Alfred Kammer
Director of the European Department at the International Monetary Fund

Jack Parrock
Independent Correspondent and Presenter

Luisa Santos
Deputy Director General, Business Europe

Philippe Ducom
President, ExxonMobil Europe

Marc Reinhardt
Public Sector Global Industry Leader, Capgemini

Bruno Liebhaberg
Director General, CERRE

Julia Poliscanova
Senior Director, Vehicles and Emobility, Transport & Environment

Sean Klein
Journalist and Broadcaster, SeanKlein Media Ltd.

Declan Costello
Deputy Director-General, DG ECFIN, European Commission

Archana Jagannathan
Senior Director Sustainable Packaging, Pepsico Europe

Paolo Glerean
Chairman of Recyclass

Dragos Pislaru
Member of the European Parliament

Javier Espinoza
Financial Times Correspondent

Arnaud Thysen
Director General, European Business Summits

Sponsors & Partners

2021 Partners

• Google
• Breakthrough Energy
• Enviva
• AB InBev
• Capgemini
• Facebook
• Cisco
• Pepsico
• Exxon Mobile
• Huawei
• PwC
• EuroBrussels
• Invest in Canada
• EuroNews
• GE