Georgetown law
Georgetown law, 600 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington, DC 20001, USA

What is Qwoted?

Qwoted is a free expert network: we help reporters connect with experts & we help those same experts build relationships with top reporters.

Event Date Mon Nov 5 EST - Thu Nov 8 EST (about 3 years ago)
Location Georgetown law
600 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington, DC 20001, USA
Region Americas

During Fintech Week, thought leaders from fintech firms across the country—from Amazon to Zcash—describe their business, and explain how their services intersect with markets for a global audience consisting of policymakers, market participants, lawyers, and thought-leaders. This year, an international array of regulators—from the Chariman of the CFTC to the Co-Director of Colombia’s central bank—will in turn lay out their perspective on the future of fintech regulatory policy at Georgetown, the IMF and on Capitol Hill.

Fintech Week’s origins lay in the unveiling of the OCC fintech charter by then Comptroller of the Currency Thomas Curry at Georgetown Law’s Institute of International Economic Law. Since then the IIEL has been a locus for some of Washington’s most vaunted and high profile discussions of fintech policy and innovation. Fintech Week’s founder and the Institute’s director is Professor Chris Brummer.


2018 Speakers:

Sheila C. Bair
Former Chairman, U.S. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

J. Christopher Giancarlo
Chairman, U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission

Joseph M. Otting
Comptroller, U.S. Office of the Comptroller of the Currency

Craig Phillips
Counselor to the Secretary, U.S. Department of the Treasury

Maria Adamjee, Chief Executive Officer, Megalodon Capital
Priya R. Aiyar, Partner, Willkie Farr & Gallagher, and former Acting General Counsel of the U.S. Department of the Treasury

Douglas W. Arner
Kerry Holdings Professor, University of Hong Kong

Martina Aufiero, Senior Vice President & Managing Director, Safeguard Scientifics

Conrad G. Bahlke
Counsel, Asset Management Group, Willkie Farr & Gallagher

Jeff Bandman
Founder & Principal, Bandman Advisors

Pradeep Belur
Chief Operating Officer, Small Business Administration

Robert Bench
Head Regulatory Counsel & Chief Compliance Officer, Circle

Kristin Boggiano
Chief Legal Officer, Alphapoint

Perianne Boring
Founder & President, Chamber of Digital Commerce

Peter Borish
Chief Strategist, Quad Group

Brian Brooks
Chief Legal Officer, Coinbase

Chris Brummer
Research Professor & Faculty Director, Georgetown University, Institute of International Economic Law

Nic Carter
Founder, Coinmetrics

Andres Choussy
Head of Trade & Portfolio Management, NEX

Isabelle Corbett
Head of Regulatory Affairs & Partnerships, R3

Gerardo Hernandez Correa
Co-Director, Central Bank of Colombia, and former Financial Superintendent

Mohammad Davoodalhosseini
Senior Economist, Funds Management & Banking, Bank of Canada

Gary DeWaal
Special Counsel, Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP

Desiree Dickerson
Head of Operations, Lightning Labs

William Eisenbeis
Managing Director, SARORAS Private Capital

Uche Ewelukwa
Professor, School of Law, University of Arkansas

Moad Fahmi
Senior Fintech Advisor, Bermuda Monetary Authority

Bruce Fekrat
Executive Director & Associate General Counsel, CME Group

Jesus Fernandez-Villaverde
Professor, Department of Economics, University of Pennsylvania

Gilles Gade
Chief Executive Officer, Cross River Bank

Daniel Gorfine
DLabCFTC Director and Chief Innovation Officer, U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission

Tim Grant
Founder and CEO of DrumG Technologies

Arthur W. Hahn
Counsel and Global Co-chair, Financial Services Practice, Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP & Trustee, Institute for Financial Markets

Vikram Haksar
Assistant Director, Strategy Policy and Review Department, International Monetary Fund

Dong He
Deputy Director, Capital Markets, International Monetary Fund

Richard Herr
Managing Director, Sandler O’Neill + Partners, L.P.

Gabriel Hidalgo
Managing Director, K2 Intelligence

William Hinman
Director, Division of Corporate Finance, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Robert J. Jackson
Commissioner, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Kavita Jain
Director, Office of Emerging Regulatory Issues, Financial Industry Regulatory Authority

Linda Jeng
Chief of Staff, Risk, Surveillance & Data, Federal Reserve Board

Charles M. Kahn
Professor Emeritus of Finance, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Rich Kerschner
Co-Chair, Advisory Board, Institute of International Economic Law, Georgetown Law & Senior Advisor, Elixirr

Trevor Kiviat
Associate, Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP

Brian Knight, Director
Innovation and Governance Program, Mercatus Center, George Mason University

Robert Le
Senior Analyst, Emerging Technology, Pitchbook

Ross Leckow
Deputy General Counsel, Legal Department, International Monetary Fund

Sean Lippell
Director, Investments, Fintech Collective

Alexander Lipton
Chief Technical Officer, SilaMoney

David Lipton
First Deputy Managing Director, International Monetary Fund

Margaret C. Liu
Senior Vice President and Deputy General Counsel, Conference of State Bank Supervisors

Jameson Lopp
Infrastructure Engineer, Casa

Jai Massari
Partner, Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP

Patrick Murck
Special Counsel, Cooley LLP

Aditya Narain
Deputy Director, Monetary and Capital Markets Department, International Monetary Fund

Makada Henry-Nickie
Rubenstein Fellow in Governance Studies, Brookings Institution

Joseph Noss
Senior Manager, Bank of England & Member, Financial Stability Board Secretariat

Joseph M. Otting
Comptroller, U.S. Office of the Comptroller of the Currency

Rob Palatnick
Chief Technology Architect, Depository Trust & Clearing Corporation

Ceyla Pazarbasioglu
Senior Director Finance, Competitiveness and Innovation Global Practice, World Bank

Gina Pieters
Research Fellow, Cambridge Centre for Alternative Finance, University of Cambridge & Lecturer, Economics Department, University of Chicago

Rahul Prabhakar
Head of Regulatory Compliance for Financial Services, Security Assurance, Amazon Web Services

Nirup Ramalingam
Chief Operating Officer, NEX SEF

Nat Robinson
Chief Executive Officer, Leaf Global Fintech

Ratna Sahay
Deputy Director, Monetary and Capital Markets Department, International Monetary Fund

Alessandra Shultz
Associate, Business Development, Gemini

Bryan Stirewalt
Chief Executive The Board of Directors (“Board”) of the Dubai Financial Services Authority

Juan Suarez
Vice President, Legal, Coinbase

Tim Swanson
Director of Research, Post Oak Labs

Josh Swihart
Marketing Director, Zcash

Peter Van Valkenburgh
Research Director, Coin Center

Harco van den Oever
Founder and CEO of Overstone Art Services

Angela C. Walch
Associate Professor, St. Mary’s University School of Law

Petal Walker
Special Counsel, Wilmer Hale

Yvonne Wang
Head of Technology Strategy, Stealth Fintech

Chris White
Chief Executive Officer, Viable Markets

Diego Zuluaga
Policy Analyst, Cato Institute’s Center for Monetary and Financial Alternatives

Sponsors & Partners

2018 Sponsors:

• Thomson Reuters
• Amazon
• Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP
• Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP
• NEX Group
• Chamber of Digital Commerce
• The Institute For Financial Markets