Alte Oper, Frankfurt
Alte Oper, Frankfurt, Opernplatz 1, 60313 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

What is Qwoted?

Qwoted is a free expert network: we help reporters connect with experts & we help those same experts build relationships with top reporters.

Event Date Fri Nov 16 GMT (about 3 years ago)
In your timezone (EST): Fri Nov 16 12:00am - Fri Nov 16 12:00am
Location Alte Oper, Frankfurt
Opernplatz 1, 60313 Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Region EMEA

The Frankfurt European Banking Congress (EBC) is one of Europe’s most prestigious congresses in the field of banking and finance.

Premiered in 1991 on the initiative of the International Bankers Forum e.V., the congress was hosted annually by Germany’s leading banks based in Frankfurt am Main – Commerzbank, Deutsche Bank and Dresdner Bank – and by the City of Frankfurt am Main from 1992 until 2008. Afterwards, and until 2015, the chairmen of Commerzbank and Deutsche Bank took turns in officially hosting the EBC. Since 2016, BNP Paribas, Commerzbank and Deutsche Bank have been the co-hosting banks of the congress. Traditionally, the EBC takes place on the penultimate Friday in November at the Alte Oper Frankfurt.

The EBC aims at providing a forum for open and forward oriented discussion of European issues, their role in the world of politics and financial markets. The EBC has become an established meeting place for high level representatives from politics, business, finance, and academia. Leading topics and high-level speakers for each year’s event are chosen by the EBC’s steering committee.


2018 Speakers

Tobias Adrian
Financial Counsellor and Director of the Monetary and Capital Markets Department, International Monetary Fund, Washington, D.C.

Uwe Becker
Mayor and City Treasurer, City of Frankfurt am Main

Claudio Borio
Head of the Monetary and Economic Department, Bank for International Settlements, Basel

Mario Draghi
President, European Central Bank, Frankfurt am Main

Francine Lacqua
Anchor, Bloomberg Television, London

Jean Lemierre
Chairman of the Board of Directors, BNP Paribas, Paris

Steven Maijoor
Chair, European Securities and Markets Authority, Paris

Blythe Masters
Chief Executive Officer, Digital Asset Holdings, New York

Philipp Sandner
Professor and Head of Frankfurt School Blockchain Center, Frankfurt School of Finance & Management, Frankfurt am Main

Dominik Schiener
Chairman of the Board of Directors, IOTA Foundation, Berlin

Wulf Schmiese
Chief Editor “heute journal”, Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen, Mainz

Olaf Scholz
Minister of Finance of the Federal Republic of Germany, Berlin

Christian Sewing
Chairman of this year’s EBC; Chief Executive Officer, Deutsche Bank, Frankfurt am Main

Lars E.O. Svensson
Affiliated Professor, Department of Economics, Stockholm School of Economics

Lord Adair Turner
Chairman, Institute for New Economic Thinking, London

Jens Weidmann
President, Deutsche Bundesbank, Frankfurt am Main

Martin Zielke
Chairman of the Board of Managing Directors, Commerzbank, Frankfurt am Main