What is Qwoted?

Qwoted is a free expert network: we help reporters connect with experts & we help those same experts build relationships with top reporters.

Event Date Fri Nov 19 CET (7 months ago)
In your timezone (EDT): Fri Nov 19 2:15am - Fri Nov 19 10:15am
Location TBA
Region EMEA

Premiered in 1991, the congress was hosted annually by Germany’s leading banks based in Frankfurt am Main – Commerzbank, Deutsche Bank and Dresdner Bank – and by the City of Frankfurt am Main from 1992 until 2008. Afterwards, and until 2015, Commerzbank and Deutsche Bank took turns in officially chairing the EBC. Since 2016, BNP Paribas, Commerzbank and Deutsche Bank have been the co-hosting banks of the congress, with HSBC joining in 2019. Traditionally, the EBC takes place on the penultimate Friday in November at the Alte Oper Frankfurt.

The EBC aims at providing a forum for open and forward oriented discussion of European issues, their role in the world of politics and financial markets. The EBC has become an established meeting place for high level representatives from politics, business, finance, and academia. Leading topics and high-level speakers for each year’s event are chosen by the EBC’s steering committee.


2021 Speakers

Philippe Aghion
Professor of Economics, Collège de France, Paris and London School of Economics

Sir Charles Bean
Professor of Economics, London School of Economics and Budget Responsibility Committee, UK Office for Budget Responsibility

Markus K Brunnermeier
Edward S Sanford Professor of Economics and Director of the Bendheim Center for Finance, Princeton University

Mathias Cormann
Secretary-General, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

Melinda Crane
Chief Political Correspondent, Deutsche Welle

Manfred Knof
Chairman of the Board of Managing Directors, Commerzbank

Christine Lagarde
President, European Central Bank

Jean Lemierre
Chairman of the Board of Directors, BNP Paribas

Emma Marcegaglia
Vice President and CEO Marcegaglia Steel S.p.A., B20 Italy Chair

Klaus Regling
Managing Director, European Stability Mechanism

Carmen M Reinhart
Senior Vice President, Development Economics and World Bank Group Chief Economist, The World Bank Group

Christian Sewing
Chief Executive Officer, Deutsche Bank

Mark E Tucker
Group Chairman, HSBC

Margrethe Vestager
Executive Vice-President for A Europe Fit for the Digital Age and Commissioner for Competition, European Commission

Jens Weidmann
President, Deutsche Bundesbank

Stephanie Wüst
Deputy Mayor, City of Frankfurt am Main

Jörg Wuttke
President, European Chamber of Commerce in China, Beijing