What is Qwoted?

Qwoted is a free expert network: we help reporters connect with experts & we help those same experts build relationships with top reporters.

Event Date Thu Sep 16 EDT - Fri Sep 24 EDT (6 days ago)
Location Virtual
Region All

Blockchain represents a novel governance tool ruled by protocols and code rather than law and policy, allowing information and value to be secured, verified and transacted without central authority or intermediaries. Such decentralisation and disintermediation could displace traditional governance structures, but it also offers a chance to adapt them – to find new and better ways of connecting people, organisations and countries, and promoting cooperation and coordination in a range of local and global settings.

The 4th annual OECD Global Blockchain Policy Forum will take place virtually on a series of dates. Discussions will delve into recent developments and emerging challenges across all levels of governance; from strengthening cross-border flows and international regulatory cooperation, to better connecting companies with investors and capital, and bringing new levels of transparency to the digital economy and control over our lives online.


2021 Speakers


Mathias Cormann
Secretary-General, OECD

Primavera De Filippi
Permanent Researcher and Faculty Associate, National Center of Scientific Research (CNRS), Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University

Anat Guetta
Chairwoman, Israel Securities Authority

Alex Pentland
Professor, Media Lab, Sloan Business School, Institute for Data Systems and Society


Manuel Alvarez
Former Commissioner, California Department of Financial Protection and Innovation and Fintech

Vachira Arromdee
Assistant Governor, Bank of Thailand

Teana Baker-Taylor
Chief Policy Officer, Digital Chamber of Commerce

Masaki Bessho
Associate Director-General, Payment and Settlement Systems Department, Bank of Japan

Kristin Boggiano
President and Co-founder, CrossTower

Chris Carr
Director Better Regulation Executive, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Serey Chea
Assistant Governor, National Bank of Cambodia

Alisa DiCaprio
Head of Trade and Supply Chain, R3

Craig Dunn
Chair, ISO Technical Committee Blockchain and distributed ledger technologies

Evan Epstein
Executive Director, Center for Business Law at the University of California Hastings College of the Law

Jon Fishman
Virtual Assets Contact Group Co-chair, US Department of Treasury

Sarah Gadd
Head of Semantic Technology, Analytics and Machine Intelligence, Credit Suisse

Emmanuelle Ganne
Senior Analyst and Blockchain Lead, WTO

Mohammed Gharbawi
Senior Fintech Specialist, Bank of England

Barbara Hałasek
Head of Regulatory Affairs, Coinfirm

David Hardoon
Senior Advisor, Unionbank of the Philippines

Andreas Hartl
Head of Artificial Intelligence, Data Economy, Blockchain Division, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy

Aerdt Houben
Director Financial Markets, De Nederlandsche Bank

Jon Isaksen
Policy Officer, European Commission

Hideki Ito
Vice Commissioner for Policymaking, Digital and FinTech Strategy, Financial Services Agency of Japan

Alex Ivančo
Director, Financial Markets III Department, Ministry of Finance, Czech Republic

Marion Jansen
Director, Trade and Agriculture Directorate, OECD

Stewart Jeacocke
Foundation Council Chairperson - TradeLens and Customs, Immigration & Borders Lead, IBM Global Government Centre of Competence

Ho John
Head, Legal, Financial Markets, Standard Chartered Bank

Allan Jorgensen
Head, Centre for Responsible Business Conduct, OECD

Masamichi Kono
Deputy Secretary-General, OECD

Helen Köpman
DG Communications Networks, Content and Technology, European Commission, Deputy Head, Digital Innovation and Blockchain

Tatsuya Kurosaka
Professor. Keio University

Aleksander Madry
Professor of Computer Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Shin'ichiro Matsuo
Professor and Acting Co-chair BGIN, Georgetown university and BGIN

Daniel Mayston
Managing Director, Head of Electronic Trading and Market Structure EMEA, Blackrock

Mathilde Mesnard
Acting Director, Directorate for Financial and Enterprise Affairs, OECD

Flore-Anne Messy
Acting Deputy Director, DAF. OECD

Thomas Moser
Alternate Member of the Governing Board, Swiss National Bank

Iota Nassr
Economist, OECD

Tom Neylan
Senior Policy Analyst, FATF

Bénédicte Nolens
Head, BIS Innovation Hub Centre Hong Kong

Valerio Novembre
Senior Analyst, European Securities and Markets Authority

Elsa Pilichowski
Director, Directorate for Public Governance, OECD

Audrey Plonk
Head of Digital Economic Policy Division, Directorate for Science, Technology and Innovation, OECD

Michel Rauchs
Lead, Digital Assets, Cambridge Centre for Alternative Finance

Mai Santamaria
Head of Financial Advisory team, Department of Finance Ireland

Stephen Scott
Founder and CEO, Starling Trust Sciences

Phantom Seokgu Yun

David Shrier
Professor of Practice, AI & Innovation, Imperial College Business School

Yutaka Soejima
Head of Fintech Center and Deputy Director-General of Payment and Settlement Systems Department, Bank of Japan

Mohanty Sopnendu
Chief FinTech Officer, MAS, Monetary Authority of Singapore

Habuchi Takahide
Virtual Assets Contact Group Co-chair, Japan Financial Services Agency

Kamiyama Tetsuya
Senior Analyst, Nomura Institute of Capital Markets Research

Jane Thomason
Founder, Supernova Data

Ryosuke Ushida
Director for Strategy Development, FinTech and Innovation Office, JFSA

Gian Volpicelli
Senior Editor, Wired Magazine UK

Lawrence Wintermeyer
Executive Director and Co-founder, Global Digital Finance